To The Coast. Marion And John. 29th June

Rembrandt Gardens to Eastbourne to Rembrandt Gardens

Before our morning cuppa today it was time to do another test, you can’t eat or drink anything for 30 minutes before doing the swabs. Tests done they were left for the 30 minutes whilst we had our tea. One line each we were good to go.

Marble Arch Mound a new tourist attraction

More public transport to brave. We chose to take the bus to Victoria, more air flow and possibly more space than on a morning tube. There was plenty of time to collect tickets and buy a bottle of water to replace the one we’d filled and left onboard Oleanna!

Victoria Station

The new (to us) curved slatted wooden benches that are in the stations are rather nice. Behind the one here at Victoria is a large wall to separate the self service ticket machines from the concourse. These have a design at the top made from the sort of moss model makers use for trees and bushes. I suspect if bald patches start to appear then model railway sets may be found to be a touch more colourful in the London area.

That’s useful for models

There was plenty of space on the train to Eastbourne and it ran on time. John, Mick’s brother-in-law was there to meet us and give us a lift up to the house.

Marion and John were the last family we got to see in February last year, before the pandemic got going. A day at the Black Country Museum with fish and chips.

Marion and John and us

Today we enjoyed being in their company in the garden until the rain threatened to be a touch too heavy. Then we retired indoors for a lovely lunch of frittata followed by a cherry clafoutis, the cherrys from their own tree.


An afternoon walk was called for. St Mary’s church yard has mostly been left to wild flowers, here orchids are now growing. Kids played in the Manor Gardens as we took our stroll, rather nice to chat, walk and see new places. This left us with enough time for a cuppa before being dropped back at the station for our train back to London.

St Mary’s

Another lovely day with family.

0 locks, 0 miles, 2 buses, 2 trains, 2nd sister, 2 hours work on the train, 1 family afternoon, 4 chaps, 1 bbq, 1 game missed.